Revisions are made to a screenplay during production. Revision Mode can be used in the Screenplay Editor to lock scene numbers and track changes while editing a script that is in Production. Only screenplays, and not other script types, can be placed into Revisions mode.
Turning Revision Mode ON
Revision Mode is enabled by selecting
Script | Revision Mode... from the main menu.
Once selected, the Revision Options dialog will open, asking you to name the revision. You also have the option to select the colour of any edits for the Revision and to select whether you want to Lock Scene numbers. You can change any of these selections later using the Revision Toolbar.
Revision Marks and Scene Nesting
Any edits made to the screenplay will be marked with the selected colour. You can change the colour at any time using the colour drop down in the Revision Toolbar. Scenes will increment per the default mode which is the Hollywood standard (A/B Scenes). The Revision mode does not support A/B pages. Revision mode supports three levels of nesting.
Fixing Scene Numbers
Scene Locking becomes available once revision mode is enabled. You can manually change the Scene numbering by selecting the Fix... option from the Scene Numbers dropdown on the Revision Toolbar. Once selected, the Scene Locking dialog allows you to change the numbering of any scene or reset all the scene numbers back to standard mode while still keeping the coloured edit marks.
Printing a Screenplay that is in Revisions can be done straight from the editor window or through Typeset. Printing from the editor will print the coloured Marks. Printing from Typeset will provide the industry-standard ‘*’ notation next to any change.
Resetting Revision Mode
You can reset the Revisions mode to put your script back in to Standard editing format by selecting
Script | Reset Revision Mode from the main menu.